The Keeper by Luke Delaney Review

KEEPER

Hi Guys,

Sorry for my absence – I have been working more on my beauty blog more which can be found hanging out here. Right, so today I will be reviewing The Keeper by Luke Delaney. This is the second book in the DI Sean Corrigan Series, of which there are currently three. I have already read Cold Killing, which was fantastic.

The blurb reads:

‘The second novel in the DI Sean Corrigan series – authentic and terrifying crime fiction with a psychological edge, by an ex-Met detective. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride. Thomas Keller knows exactly who he’s looking for…They tried to keep them apart, but when he finds her, he’s going to keep her. Just like he knows she wants him to. DI Sean Corrigan is not like other detectives. His dark past has given him the ability to step into a crime scene and see it through the offender’s eyes. He understands what drives a person to commit terrible acts – but sometimes his gift feels more like a curse. When women start disappearing from their homes in broad daylight, Corrigan’s Murder Investigation Team is reluctant to take on a missing persons case. But then the first body turns up, and Corrigan knows he must quickly get into the mind of the murderer. Because this killer knows exactly who he wants. And he won’t stop until he finds her.’

My Opinion

If you know anything about me (or have ever read this blog) you will know how much I love a good crime novel. This book is fantastic, I love the way that Corrigan gets into the mind of his criminals. He almost ‘becomes’ them, using his past experience of abuse to help him. Sally Jones is also getting over what happened to her in the first book, so I would advise reading them in order or you will be thoroughly confused. This book also sees the introduction of Anna, who claims to be an innocent academic profiling the killer, but there is an undercurrent and much more to her.

I love the way Delaney gives the reader tid bits. I like how we learn almost at the same rate as the detectives and I really like how he can be gritty and honest without being overly crude. This book shows itself in layers and it is really special. What I will be doing next is reading the Toy Taker the third in the series. His writing styles if perfect for keeping the reader engaged, focusing on small details and then suddenly switching to a 100 miles an hours. The twists and turns keep the reader going throughout.

If you like James Patterson with a few drops of Martina Cole this is for you!

My Goodreads Score: 5/5

Pages: 458

Format E-Book

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s