Book Review: Cycle of the Werewolf by Stephen King

220px-1985cyclewerewolf

Hi Everyone,

If you have read this blog before you will be aware of my love for Stephen King. I just have one issue with his work – his books seem to be too long and strung out. Sometimes irrelevant details are added  and the stories can take a long time to get off the ground.

This why I wanted to try a novella.

This book follows the story of Tarker’s Mills a small town in Maine where every full moon someone is being found killed. There is a joke throughout the town that there is a Werewolf but soon this joke starts to look very real. Later on in the year and a local disabled boy has taken some fireworks out into the back garden when the werewolf comes for him. Quick thinking means that the throws a firework in the beasts face as and a result the creature loses an eye. There is just one person in the town wearing an eye patch and it is hard to believe it could be him committing these murders…

This book is almost a horror and crime mixed in one and it is nice to see that Stephen King has not swayed from his typical setting (I kind of like the small town in Maine stuff). The books’ chapters are set up into months and there is great a funny afterword written by the author.

His usual descriptive flair is present here but it is scaled back, the reader can really enjoy the story without being bogged down by the details. I believe this is book number 11 I have read by King and it is the only one like it. This book would be great to read around Halloween and I don’t think it is too gory or scary for 11+ children.

Probably my favourite thing about this book is that the one person quick witted enough to not be killed by the werewolf (and to ultimately stop him) is the young boy in the wheelchair. This is not done in a patronising way either. I would certainly recommend it to people who are new to this author or the genre in general.

Format: Kindle ( I have something like 56 Stephen King books on there!)

Approx Pages: 128

Goodreads Rating: 3.58 (I gave it a 5)

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Cycle of the Werewolf by Stephen King

  1. It’s great to see you back up and at ’em reviewing books again. This time I’VE been away for a while. (Internet, car, phone, cable TV AND Netflix all went down at the same time for several weeks and I didn’t need therapy afterwards. heheh…) Great seeing you again. :0) I’ve had this semi-fascination going on with S. king for 25 years or so. I used to think he was pure evil (when I was younger- you have to admit that he looks good and deranged!) until I really started studying him as a person.

    He’s admitted that he was plenty drunk while writing his first handful of novels. Then came the cocaine- his stories got crazier and creepier (and as you pointed out- much longer and “strung out”- great use of words). He went to rehab and then relapsed. Rehab, relapse. (Repeat several times and fast forward 20 years.) Now I see him as a talented man who had a tortured childhood and just wanted to get his buzz on. I feel like I know him personally after all these years, don’t you in a strange way?

    Sounds like a great read.

Leave a Reply

