Book Review: The Devotion of Suspect X by Keigo Higashino

the-devoition-of-suspect-x

I actually read this book a couple of months ago but after enjoying the follow up Salvation of a Saint I decided it was time to do a write up.

This is first piece of Japanese fiction that I have read and it actually part of the Detective Galileo Series and I believe this is actually book number four (but the first one to be translated) here is the Amazon summary:

Yasuko lives a quiet life, working in a Tokyo bento shop, a good mother to her only child. But when her ex-husband appears at her door without warning one day, her comfortable world is shattered.

When Detective Kusanagi of the Tokyo Police tries to piece together the events of that day, he finds himself confronted by the most puzzling, mysterious circumstances he has ever investigated. Nothing quite makes sense, and it will take a genius to understand the genius behind this particular crime…

This book has also been made into a film – but although I can read gory books like you wouldn’t believe I can’t stand to see it on screen!

When I started reading this book I was slightly worried that the different types of names used and the unfamiliar places would confuse me – but this was such a great read I hardly noticed.

Professor Yukawa is Kusanagi’s best friend who works as a ‘consultant’ to the police department and he gives great scientific insight to the reader adding an extra layer to the book.

The relationships between the characters are well written and I felt Yasuko’s fear when he eye husband showed up and the toll the following events took. I read this book in just one day and cannot wait for more of Higashino’s work. I do not want to include any spoiler but if you are looking for Steig Larsson type work go east you will not regret it.

NB: Since reading these two books I have been looking for my Japanese fiction and it is near impossible to find anything for the Kindle. Both Amazon and Waterstone’s so have a really good selection of paperbacks though.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Devotion of Suspect X by Keigo Higashino

  1. I keep seeing this book mentioned but I always forget to look into it further. It does look like something I’d enjoy so I shall go and investigate it on Amazon now, before I forget again.

Leave a Reply

