A New Hollywood Love… Barbara Stanwyck

A few months ago I was reading a book when the film Double Indemnity was mentioned and I decided to buy it I love older films so know if would be something I would enjoy that’s when I first came across this amazing actress. She was born as Ruby Catherine Stevens in 1907 Brooklyn and by 1944 she was the highest paid woman in the United States.

As she was orphaned at 4, she spent most of her earlyyears in and out of foster homes making what she became even more of an acheivement. she even won three emmys and a golden globe. But Barbara Stanwyck is not often a name you hear and I think that is a real shame and she even received a lifetime achievement award.

I haven’t yet managed to see a great number of her films (I am have only actually seen four) but of what I have seen I thought her best work was in The Strange Love of Martha Ivers. Martha is a woman who has killed her Aunt as a child and her love for killing has stuck with her since she first got away with it. She believes everything is fine until an old friend comes to town…

If you are a fan of the silverscreen I would certainly recommend this.

Here are the for films I’ve seen but I wish to see many more:

1 Double Indemity

2 The Strange Love of Martha Ivers

3 Meet John Doe

4 Burlesque

3 thoughts on “A New Hollywood Love… Barbara Stanwyck

Leave a Reply

